Skip to Main Content
Skip Nav Destination

Understanding the Basics Collection 

The Understanding the Basics Collection is an 8-volume ASM International Digital Library-exclusive set that provides comprehensive coverage of critical topics in metallurgy.

These introductory guides present critical information on key topics related to materials processing, performance, and evaluation. The books are presented in an easy-to-understand format that emphasizes fundamental information and are supported by numerous examples, real-world applications, figures, and tables. 

The eight volumes are:




Lightweight Materials

Fatigue and Fracture

Metals Fabrication

Inspection of Metals

Phase Diagrams

Single-user annual subscription access to the Understanding the Basics Collection can be purchased for a special price. Visit Access Options to learn about other subscription options for ASM Technical Books.

Close Modal

or Create an Account

Close Modal
Close Modal