Skip to Main Content
Skip Nav Destination


Commercial aluminum alloys are classified based on how they are made and what they contain. This article describes the ANSI H35.1 designation system, which is widely used to classify wrought and cast aluminum alloys. The ANSI standard uses a four-digit numbering system to identify alloying elements, compositional modifications, purity levels, and product types. It also uses a multicharacter code to convey process-related details on heat treating, hardening, cooling, cold working, and other stabilization treatments. The article includes several large tables that provide extensive information on aluminum alloy and temper designations and how they correspond to critical mechanical properties as well as other designation systems.

You do not currently have access to this chapter.
Don't already have an account? Register
Close Modal

or Create an Account

Close Modal
Close Modal