Skip to Main Content
Skip Nav Destination


This article is a brief guide to information sources on nondestructive testing (NDT). It provides examples of some of the standards bodies commonly used by NDT personnel. These include the American Society for Testing and Materials (ASTM) International, European Committee for Standardization (CEN), American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME), International Organization for Standardization (ISO), Aerospace Industries Association (AIA), American Welding Society (AWS), American Petroleum Institute (API), and American Society for Nondestructive Testing (ASNT). All of these organizations used industry subject-matter experts and a consensus process in the development of their codes and standards.

You do not currently have access to this chapter.
Don't already have an account? Register
Close Modal

or Create an Account

Close Modal
Close Modal