Skip to Main Content
Skip Nav Destination

This article provides ASTM standard definitions for fatigue and describes the approaches that are used to design finite or infinite life, used in a complementary sense in fatigue design. It explains four distinct phases of fatigue: nucleation, structurally dependent crack propagation, crack propagation, and final instability. The article discusses the significant role that fatigue plays in industrial design applications.

The cracking process occurs slowly over the service life from various crack growth mechanisms such as fatigue, stress-corrosion cracking, creep, and hydrogen-induced cracking. Each of these mechanisms has certain characteristic features that are used in failure analysis to determine...

You do not currently have access to this chapter.
Don't already have an account? Register
Close Modal

or Create an Account

Close Modal
Close Modal