Skip to Main Content


This article discusses the standard test methods that can be applied to many types of welds: tension, bending, impact, and toughness testing. It provides information on four qualification stages, namely, the weld material qualification, base material qualification, the weld procedure qualification, and the weld service assessment. The article describes two general types of measurements for residual stress in welds: locally destructive techniques and nondestructive techniques. Locally destructive techniques include hole drilling, chip machining, and block sectioning. Nondestructive techniques include X-ray diffraction, neutron diffraction, Barkhausen noise analysis, and ultrasonic propagation analysis. The article concludes with an overview of weldability testing.

You do not currently have access to this chapter.
Don't already have an account? Register

William Mohr, 2000. "Mechanical Testing of Welded Joints", Mechanical Testing and Evaluation, Howard Kuhn, Dana Medlin

Download citation file:

Close Modal
This Feature Is Available To Subscribers Only

Sign In or Create an Account

Close Modal
Close Modal