Skip to Main Content


Copper alloys are classified by the International Unified Numbering System designations to identify alloy groups by major alloying element. This article presents the designations and compositions of various copper alloys, such as brasses, nickel silvers, bronzes, beryllium coppers, and spinodal alloys. It discusses the fatigue testing of the copper alloys and tabulates the tensile and fatigue strengths of the copper alloys. The article schematically illustrates S-N curves for the solid-solution (non-aging) strengthened alloys. It concludes with a discussion on the role of microstructure in the fatigue performance of beryllium copper alloys.

You do not currently have access to this chapter.
Don't already have an account? Register

Jack Crane, John O. Ratka, John F. Breedis, 1996. "Fatigue Properties of Copper Alloys", Fatigue and Fracture

Download citation file:

Close Modal
This Feature Is Available To Subscribers Only

Sign In or Create an Account

Close Modal
Close Modal