Skip to Main Content


This article provides ASTM standard definitions for fatigue and describes the approaches that are used to design finite or infinite life, used in a complementary sense in fatigue design. It explains four distinct phases of fatigue: nucleation, structurally dependent crack propagation, crack propagation, and final instability. The article discusses the significant role that fatigue plays in industrial design applications.

You do not currently have access to this chapter.
Don't already have an account? Register

David W. Hoeppner, 1996. "Industrial Significance of Fatigue Problems", Fatigue and Fracture

Download citation file:

Close Modal
This Feature Is Available To Subscribers Only

Sign In or Create an Account

Close Modal
Close Modal