Skip to Main Content
Skip Nav Destination


Corrosion problems can be divided into eight categories based on the appearance of the corrosion damage or the mechanism of attack: uniform or general corrosion; pitting corrosion; crevice corrosion, including corrosion under tubercles or deposits, filiform corrosion, and poultice corrosion; galvanic corrosion; erosion-corrosion, including cavitation erosion and fretting corrosion; intergranular corrosion, including sensitization and exfoliation; dealloying; environmentally assisted cracking, including stress-corrosion cracking, corrosion fatigue, and hydrogen damage (including hydrogen embrittlement, hydrogen-induced blistering, high-temperature hydrogen attack, and hydride formation). All these forms are addressed in this chapter in the context of aqueous corrosion. For each form, a general description is provided along with information on the causes and the list of metals that can be affected, with particular emphasis on the recognition and prevention measures.

You do not currently have access to this chapter.
Don't already have an account? Register
Close Modal

or Create an Account

Close Modal
Close Modal